Pointelle Jenna

This is one of my first makes for 2016 and will be a great addition to my wardrobe.

IMG_9123Recognise the pattern? No it’s not a Renfrew. 🙂 This is actually Muse Patterns Jenna cardigan. I’ve hacked it to make a jumper and what a great hack it is. OK, it wasn’t exactly difficult to do, but hey, it works well, don’t you think?

IMG_9117I bought this fabric last year when I was visiting a customer in Oamaru, South Island. It was a remnant, about 90cm of 140 wide. Not masses. Let’s face it it was never going to make anything much. It was either this or another Tahi shrug. I had thoughts about the new collar expansion pack, but there just wasn’t enough. I even had to make the neck binding from two pieces.IMG_9138So, it wasn’t difficult. I placed the centre front edge on the fold. I also used the gathered short sleeves from the first expansion pack. Somehow one sleeve looks more gathered than the other, I’m not sure why. The sleeve hems are finished with a double needle.

IMG_9134My overlocker did not like more than two layers of this fabric. It chewed it up and the first time I attached the bottom band, it stretched the fabric all over the place. I had to just cut it off and start again, using the walking foot on my machine. It’s meant the top is perhaps a bit shorter than I’d prefer, but it still works. I then stitched the inside edge down so it looks like I used a double needle.

hemThe deets
Fabric:  A blue pointelle knit from the Oamaru Silk Centre, August 2015.
Notions:  Thread and some tape to stabilise the shoulders
Pattern:  Muse Jenna cardigan, size 40 with the sleeve expansion pack
Changes made:  Cut the front on the fold to create a jumper.
Another one/recommendations:  This pattern works so well as a jumper. It’s so quick and easy to put together. Kat’s instructions are clear and easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this pattern as a jumper. To be honest I recommend the pattern full stop!

IMG_9146First worn:  For high tea in town a couple of weeks ago with the girls with a RTW skirt. Photos here by the Braille statue in town (hence the blobs!)

IMG_9148

2 thoughts on “Pointelle Jenna

Leave a Reply

