Copying RTW – again!

I started this skirt a while ago, but it got delayed by the need for a double ended zip.

I was visiting a customer last year some time and she had a knit skirt on with a full length exposed zip. I wasn’t going to let this opportunity pass.

pic9Although I probably could have used my own pencil skirt block, the Sew House 7 Alberta Street skirt seemed a better shape with the basque at the top. I actually cut it out before the denim version previously blogged here, so at the time it was a first time for making the pattern.

The fabric is a ponte knit from the Fabric Store which I bought in April. Nope, it didn’t stay long in stash 🙂 I was pretty true to the pattern, I’ve just omitted the pockets and inserted a full length double ended zip.

pic13I honestly don’t have much to say about the skirt that I didn’t say in my previous post. The skirt went together really quickly again, once I’d got the zip! I took the top of the basque in again probably by about 3/4″. Due to the fabric choice this version definitely feels looser.

pic10The double ended zip came from the US, so obviously took a wee while to arrive – not to mention the postage costs! I originally thought to use an open ended zip finishing above the hem to give a split, but the original had a double ended zip and so I had to have one which went the full length of the skirt which I could open from the bottom to create a split if I wanted to.

pic15The details
Fabric:  Black and white Aztec print ponte from The Fabric Store, purchased in April 2016.
Notions:  Thread, interfacing and a double ended exposed zip.
Pattern:  Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil skirt, size 14.
Changes made:  Top of the basque/yoke taken in by 3/4″each side, omitted the pockets and changed the zip from an lapped zip to a full length zip, so removing the back vent.

pic12Another one/recommendations:  Erm well, this is my second version of this skirt – is that a recommendation enough. My first finished version, the denim one gets worn so much. This knit version too I love and have worn it a couple of times already. It’s quick and easy to make and the fit is fantastic.

Note to self: Don’t wear this skirt when flying and needing to go through security – it sets off the alarms 🙂

pic11.jpg

One thought on “Copying RTW – again!

Leave a Reply

