JLV Gable Top

One of my fellow Kiwis has released another pattern and I’ve been testing it!

This latest creation is the Gable Top from Jennifer Lauren Vintage and what a great wardrobe staple it is.

front 2The top has a 50s inspired slash neckline with the option of different sleeve lengths. It’s certainly a stash buster and makes up in no time at all.

backI made up one in a grey and black knit and straight away made up another in a cream and beige knit, I loved the pattern so much. Both were made up with fabric remnants and so have ended up with 3/4 sleeves. The fabric was wide enough to fold in both sides to cut out the front and back, then fold down the centre to cut the two sleeves. I think I used about 0.8m of 150cm wide!

frontThis was so well drafted and the instructions great, I don’t think I gave any changes back to Jen. The only change I made was to shorten the top by about 4 inches. It’s drafted long to go over skinny jeans. (The world will faint when I wear some skinny jeans, so I shorted the top to fit my wardrobe needs.)

back 2The neckline has a 5/8″ seam allowance, and the rest of the top just 3/8″. This ensures the neck lies flat. If the front neck is too high, it is possible to stitch it down with more than 5/8″ I just stitched it down probably at 7/8″. The top has a slash neck and any more the slash neck would look odd.

NecklineOne small touch, but really useful is to stitch a wee piece of ribbon in the back neck. It would be practically impossible to tell front from back otherwise and I don’t have personal garment labels.

IMG_7681The tops were both sewn up on my machine and seams finished on the overlocker since I wanted to match up the stripes – check these out! The hems and sleeves were finished with a twin needle.

stripe matchingThe details
Fabric:  Grey and black poly knit from Arthur Toye (before Jan 2014 when they closed!), cream and beige cotton knit from Fabric-a-Brac (I forget when!).
Notions:  Thread and tape to stabilise the shoulder seams.
Pattern:  Jennifer Lauren Vintage Gable top, size 16.
Changes made:  Shortened by 4 inches and stitched the front neck down by 1/4″ more than the seam allowance.
Another one/recommendations:  Go for it! This is a fabulous pattern. It’s a quick make and perfect for those times when you feel your sew-jo has gone and you need a quick make. It’s also an awesome wardrobe staple. Let’s face it, who doesn’t want a slash neck knit top in their wardrobe.

Oh and these photos were taken by Kat on a particularly wet, windy and chilly day down in Kilbirnie where the trolley bus terminus is, hence the mural on the wall and also my odd poses! 🙂

front weatherPlus also photobombs from small people trying to look like the tram conductors…

IMG_0107

6 thoughts on “JLV Gable Top

  1. Great top – so versatile – ideal for everyday wear!

    It made me smile when you said that the world would faint when you wear skinny jeans – I have never worn jeans in my life – I only started to wear trousers two years ago. My daughter and best friend are trying to persuade me to buy a pair of jeans but I have resisted so far – I am sure people would also faint if they saw me in jeans!!!

Leave a Reply

