Essential foundations

I’ve been in need of a full length slip for a while. I have a couple of half slips which are in constant use, but a full length slip means there isn’t that bulge of elastic around the waist and gives that extra layer when needed, albeit a thin layer.

img_0339Two weeks ago, I went along to a Mad Skills class at Made Marion here in Wellington. The class is run by the fantastic and knowledgeable MrsC. She covers a number of skills in the course such as pattern matching, sewing on the bias, French seams, flat felled seams, rolled hems and sewing with fiendish fabrics.

img_0350I’ve had this pale purple/dusky pink satin charmeuse in my stash for a while specifically for making slips. Having been on the Mad Skills course, I decided I could put my new found skills into practice.  img_0344 I used a slip pattern which I think often gets overlooked. It’s actually McCalls 6696. Honestly if you look up images of this pattern on the Interwebs, all I can see are shirtdresses. There is a bias slip in this pattern, yep there is, it’s not just a shirt dress pattern, trust me, I’m not a doctor, I’m a librarian! 😉 Go check it out!

Image result for mccalls 6696

I stitched the side seams using flat felled seams for extra strength. I used a rolled hem finish around the neck and also around the hem AND I made the rouleau loop straps! The neck stretched a wee bit when I sewed the rolled hem, so I attached this pretty ribbon which was from Mum’s stash. I then attached lace around the hem to finish it off.

neck-and-hemThe deets
Fabric:  Pink/purple polyester satin charmeuse from Spotlight, sometime ago!
Notions: 
Thread, ribbon and lace.
Pattern: 
McCall’s 6696 view E, size 16
Changes made: 
None!
Another one/recommendations:  
Well if you’re after a really simple full length slip, this pattern works. There are no darts. It’s cut on the bias, so hugs the body perfectly. I really recommend it. It’s quick to sew, I left this to drop out, but it didn’t drop at all. I’d just recommend you take more time over the necklines than I did so that it doesn’t stretch that much.

img_0347

4 thoughts on “Essential foundations

  1. Super slip, so practical and would nice than the brought half slip I wear, I have this pattern too so might give this a go soon, especially as I keep making dresses.

Leave a Reply

