Copying and proud of it

Before Christmas I was in Whanganui (about 3-4 hours north of here) and discovered two sewing/craft shops. Philp-Wrights is really known as a curtain upholstery fabric store, however down the back are lots of lovely dress-making fabrics, along with some samples on manikins. This one in particular took my fancy…

As you can imagine the rest is history, the fabric and the pattern came back home with me! It’s very rare nowadays that I buy a pattern on a whim too!

This is Burda 7031. It’s a while since I’ve made anything Burda for me, and so made up a muslin. It’s the first time I’ve sewn anything with French darts too. The were pretty much in the right place, but needed flattening out at the top slightly. These have quite a curve in them too. These darts are trimmed before stitching them.

As I’ve said, I completely copied the version in the shop! The fabric is a lovely quality cotton sateen and was really lovely to sew up.

I had to make a few changes, since the short sleeve version is lace with a lining. Obviously I didn’t line this dress, and so I just used a single layer and gave them a small hem. The sleeves are made up of a front and back. I also drafted some neck facings.

My invisible zip is not perfect, what also makes it more difficult is that the centre back seam is shaped. I’m not the best at sewing in zips in shaped seams. Once I’d sewn in the zip, the back was still too big, I ended up putting in darts. I might have done better to have sewn in the zip with straight seams and then adding the darts afterwards.

I actually think the front is possibly too big, but I can’t think at the moment how to shape it and make it a better fit.

The deets
Fabrics:  Cotton sateen from Philp-Wrights in Whanganui, December 2016
Notions:  Thread, invisible zip, some interfacing for neck facings.
Pattern:  Burda 7031, size 16
Changes made:  Darts lowered slightly, long back darts added and neck facings drafted.
Another one/recommendations:  I love this dress, it’s really comfortable and summery. There are very few out in the wild, but those French darts make for a great fit. I still think I could do a lot more to the fitting in the front. Whether I make another I’m unsure. I’m glad I saw the version in the shop and made it up though. It’s had a lot of wear already 🙂

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Copying and proud of it

  1. Mum got the fabric for my high school ball dresses from philp wright fabrics in wanganui. It used to have a large dress fabric selection. Love this dress

Leave a Reply

