Liola Patterns Molly Cardigan

I made this cardigan last August and have finally managed to get photos when Kat and I went for a walk one lunchtime. Taken in a very windy Wellington day up by Brooklyn windmill…

This is the Molly cardigan from Liola Patterns, which I discovered by chance when I was looking at cardigans on Indiesew.com It has some structure and also looks jacket like. I also really liked the collar detail. Even though I could find no others in the wild, I decided it was worth a risk!

I think the recommended fabric is for something with a bit more drape than the merino double knit I used. However it works well and is so warm and cosy for the winter!

Casting my mind back… I cut an XL based on my bust size. Since my fabric was really quite thick, I ended up sewing much of this on my machine with a walking foot and finishing seams using my overlocker. My overlocker doesn’t really like thick seams, even if I set the feed dogs with a little pressure as possible, and this certainly does end up with thick seams with the collar double thickness.

The pattern was really very simple to make up. The collar is dealt with first. They are big pieces cut on the fold and certainly with my fabric they took quite a bit of dealing with. the collar is attached right down to the side seam to give the curved front. The back piece is then hemmed up level with the collar pieces.

The instructions are clear and easy to follow, with good images attached. I have to say it was an enjoyable make. I didn’t have to make any changes, I just made it up as is, even following the instructions!

The deets
Fabrics:  Brown merino double knit from The Fabric Store, August 2016
Notions:  Thread and tape for the shoulders.
Pattern:  Liola Patterns Molly Cardigan, size XL, available from Indiesew.com
Changes made:  None
Another one/recommendations:  I’m happy with this. It got a lot of wear in the winter after I made it. I love the colour and it goes with so many things. It’s warm and toasty particularly for a cold day. The fit is great, I love the length of this one. I also like the collar. It’s a quick and easy make and definitely makes a change from my four Style Arc Nina cardigans! I think there might just be another one in the making.

Oh and you wanna see a really funny photo… Check out this windswept look 🙂

Here’s the view from the top

Save

One thought on “Liola Patterns Molly Cardigan

Leave a Reply

