Rose scout and circular tahi

I have so many things to blog about. I’ve been sewing up a storm, but not taking the time to photograph or blog. Yes, I could leave them unblogged, but I find it really helpful to make a record of my makes and where best but on here – one of the prime reasons for this site…

This time, more wardrobe staples: a Muse Tahi skirt and a Grainline Scout tee. Made last year and photographed in November just after the Kaikoura earthquake. Some of us met up in town and had tea and cakes at Louis Sargent where they make the most amazing cakes…

Muse Tahi Skirt

This is my third Tahi skirt. The others here and here. Consequently the pattern needs little description.

I always said I wanted to make a long floaty version, so this a long flared version (not a maxi length) using this black patterned fabric I think from The Fabric Warehouse. It’s not floating, this was quite a stiff fabric until I washed it. The big black circles are felted. It’s slightly see-through and so I lined the skirt with a grey polyester lining. The lining is cut to the straight A-line version.

I made no changes to the pattern at all. The feature piece is cut 90 degrees to the grain. I don’t think it’s obvious really unless you look up close since there is a slight stripe to the fabric background.

The details
Fabric:  Black patterned cotton with a felt flower from The Fabric Warehouse and a grey lining from stash.
Notions:  Thread, dress zip, waistband stiffening
 and a skirt hook and eye for the waistback
Pattern:  Muse Patterns, Tahi skirt, size 40, again taken in a bit, but possibly not to a 38!
Changes made:  None, unless you count shortening the maxi version or lengthening the short version!
Another one/recommendations:  If you haven’t made this, why not? I’ve two this length now and they are constantly being worn. This black version is great for those grotty wet summer days, it’s also perfect with tights for the winter. It’s a quick make and that feature panel is a great touch.

Grainline Scout Tee

I made this pattern for the first time last June copying a RTW top I had. I thought it was time to try the pattern for real, since the RTW knock-off had a knit back and woven front.

I got this red silk from Zara at a Fabric-a-Brac one year (too long ago to remember!) Just enough to make up this top. I cut the same size front and back, a 12, and also straightened the sides. This pattern really flares out at the hip. I think the hips are cut to a size 8! The sleeves have also been lengthened by about an inch. The neckline is also raised by about an inch on the front.

I had enough fabric to piece together the binding for the neck, so the main fabric was used for the bias binding too. All seams are French seamed, apart from the armhole seam which I finished with my overlocker. It does mean that instead of the 1/2″ seams on pattern, I actually took 5/8″ seams. I think the fit works well now, although it is still quite big on the back.

The details
Fabric:  A red silk crepe with a textured finish from Zara at Fabric-a-Brac
Notions:  Thread.
Pattern:  Grainline Scout Tee, size 12 and grading to an 8 at the hips. Last time I made up a size 10, but had a knit back.
Changes made:  Straightened the side seams, raised the neckline and lengthened the sleeve.
Another one/recommendations:  Well I have to say that more are in the making, so yes I definitely recommend this pattern. It’s not difficult to make up and gives a great woven tee to wear. I will however recommend you check the finished hip measurement. I’m not sure how low the front neck would be following the pattern. Perhaps I ought to make up one as per the proper pattern!

Save

2 thoughts on “Rose scout and circular tahi

Leave a Reply

