Stripy Toaster

Photos in the winter – yeah, nah! Stay inside in the warm in a toasty sweater – much better, unless you have a Toaster Sweater that is…

I actually made this sweater last December before we went trekking off to the UK for a family wedding. Being winter in the UK, I needed warm clothes which would pack up small in the suitcase. Cue this boiled wool from The Fabric Store. The colours just jumped out at me, perfect for cheering you up on a winter’s day. Not quite so fun sewing during the summer, but hey, needs must!

This is a new pattern for me, which was sent through to me last July time when I offered to pattern test for Sew House Seven. Unfortunately I never got to make it up quickly and have only just got photos, so I’ve been a very bad possible tester. I’m sorry all, and especially Peggy at Sew House Seven.

I made up version 2 with the slash neck and standard set in sleeves. The boiled wool was so nice to cut and sew, it’s really stable as knits go and matching the seams was a complete doddle.

I spent time deciding whether to have the purple by my face or black. In discussion with some WSBN friends, we decided on the purple. Going by the finished measurements, I actually cut a Large. As lovely as the boiled wool is, I found that I needed to straighten the sides since the fabric just stuck out too much for my liking. So I took in the hips by around an inch on each side.

I also shortened the sleeves. This is a standard adjustment for me, I have short arms!

I stitched most of the seams using my overlocker, but finished the hem using the double needle on my machine. Check out these corners with my double needle. I stitch to the inside corner, then lift the needle. Pull both the needle and bobbin threads to give enough to thread through to the back, then place the fabric down under the foot, so that the inside needle goes down where you finished. I snip the the threads in the middle and then take them through to the back and finish them off on the wrong side. Hopefully the photos below will help!

This was the second Sew House Seven pattern I’ve made up and the instructions didn’t disappoint again. They were clear, made different suggestions to how things might be sewn, had clear images as well as a great glossary. I admit this pattern is not difficult, but I think anyone can make this up since the instructions are so clear and easy to follow.

As you can probably guess from my photos, I love this sweater. I’m actually really wanting to make another, but haven’t found the ideal fabric yet.

The details
Fabric:  Striped boiled wool from The Fabric Store, November 2016.
Notions:  Thread.
Pattern:  Sew House Seven Toaster sweater, version 2, size L
Changes made:  Straightened the sides down and shortened the sleeves by about 2 inches!
Another one/recommendations:  I would definitely recommend this one. I’m really wanting to make another up and will possibly lengthen it a bit more and keep those sides straightened.

I’ve realised this is a bit of a Sew House Seven outfit, I’m wearing my denim Alberta skirt with this jumper! 🙂 It was a chilly day when Mel took these photos for me in town. I was grateful for my toasty sweater! She had a sleeveless dress needing photos!

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Stripy Toaster

    1. It’s not really a knit, there’s very little stretch in it at all. It’s almost like the stretch you might find in a cotton sateen, or a stretch denim. But it works for this jumper.
      (I don’t have Netflix, but still looking for the televised Agatha!)

Leave a Reply

