Style Arc Bonnie Skirt

I have been sewing up a storm and I am constantly thinking of something else to make. I have so many things to blog about and I still keep sewing more! Having moved to a different part of the country with completely different weather, I keep finding gaps in my wardrobe. It is so much warmer and drier here, we’ve had temperatures in the high 20s/low 30s already this year, and so I keep finding a need for lightweight comfortable clothes. It possibly doesn’t help that I’m just a little larger than I was 4-5 years ago. Enter this skirt, which has a back elasticated waist! 🙂

This Mocha Vintage Finish linen I bought from The Fine Cloth Company, a relatively new online fabric store based in Wellington. This colourway was used by @nzfilmgirl on IG and I remembered a brown linen skirt I had once before and decided to make another. 

The pattern is the Style Arc Bonnie skirt. It’s a while since I’ve made up a Style Arc pattern, but actually this reminded me how good they are. This woven skirt has a button up front, a few gathers on each of the fronts. There are pockets in the side seams and a third of waistband is elasticated at the back. 

I found this a really easy make. I rarely follow instructions, so the brief instructions don’t really worry me. Although I think maybe they may have been a little more thorough than some other Style Arc patterns I’ve made. The one thing I didn’t do was to stitch down the button band. I’ve had too many problems, even using a walking foot with these twisting. I also used the selvedge as the edge for the facings.

Although I made this following my waist measurement, it seemed to come up a bit large, so I ended up reducing the elastic in the back waist by a couple of inches! It has meant that the side seams are slightly too far back.

Just check out these buttons! I found these in a local wool/habby shop. They are wooden and are just perfect!

The deets
Fabric: Mocha vintage finish linen from The Fine Cloth Company
Notions:  Buttons from Wool n Things, Onekawa, Napier, interfacing, elastic for the back waist.
PatternStyle Arc Bonnie Skirt, size 16 based on my waist measurement
Changes made:  I shortened the elastic by around 2”, it just felt so loose otherwise. I also shortened the shirt by a couple of inches.
Another one/recommendations:  This is a quick and easy skirt to make up, although the inside of my waistband is not particularly tidy. If I made this again, I think I would look at changing how the back waistband and elastic are attached. At the moment it’s attached so you end up with a raw edge. Said raw edge is overlocked, but I still think it looks a bit untidy and not as clean a finish as I’d like.

I do like this skirt though, it’s comfy (hello elasticated waist), and it’s got great pockets! It’s going to fill a gap in my wardrobe.

The blouse is also new, it’s a TNT pattern which I’ve made up a couple of times before. This is New Look 6598, which possibly is out of print. It’s a simple sleeveless, collarless, button up blouse with back ties.

The pattern comes with other options such as sleeves and a fold back collar, but in the need for some more sleeveless tops, this was perfect, since I knew the size and how it fitted.

This fabric I bought some time ago, I think from a craft shop which used to be in Marsden Village in Wellington, but it’s been in my stash that long that I can’t really remember. It’s definitely quilting cotton, but it’s so soft. There’s still about a metre left, I obviously bought it with a dress or something in mind.

The buttons are also from stash. They are a little small and I bought something else, but when I got home I decided they didn’t really work, so I went with those from stash!

The deets
Fabric: A quilting cotton from deep stash
Notions:  Buttons from stash, interfacing for the neckline.
PatternNew Look 6598 blouse, view E, size 16. 
Changes made:  None 🙂
Another one/recommendations:  Third time making this blouse, I love it. It’s easy to make and easy to wear. I love the back ties which give more definition to the back. I’ve only ever made this view E, so can’t comment on the other versions.

One thought on “Style Arc Bonnie Skirt

  1. Love that blouse fabric, Nikki, and the red buttons are great! So sorry about those skirt pockets, your description of their new placement reminds me of a similar prob in one of my makes. We make do, don’t we? Great & very practical additions! Happy Holidays! 🎄 🎉 🎁

Leave a comment