More Galaxy Tees

I made a black version of this originally which was true to the pattern, then I made up a navy version with lace sleeves and that gets worn so much, that meant some more were on the cards. Honestly, such a simple pattern, but a keeper!

I repeated the changes I made to the navy version. The neckline I changed into more of a boat neck, I also removed some of the fullness from the sleeves. Although I didn’t really make a note of how much of the fullness I removed for the blue version – silly girl!

I bought the fabric for both of these from The Fabric Store in Dunedin when I was down for work and had a spare half hour! The first version is a kinda duck egg blue merino. It’s a difficult colour to describe, since it’s quite a grey version of duck egg blue. I made the same changes as last time. The neckline I changed into more of a boat neck, I also removed some of the fullness from the sleeves.

The second version is a cream merino. To fancy it up, I used some leftover silk from the original version of this top to make the sleeves. These silk sleeves haven’t worked quite as I expected, I think I removed too much of the fullness, also it’s not worn very well and the fabric is doing strange things near the underarm. I’ll live with it for now, but am considering changing them. I would still love them to be from something other than the merino.

The deets
Fabric:  Duck egg blue and cream merino from The Fabric Store, Dunedin. Leftover silk which came from Sherazard Silks years ago.
Notions:  Thread, tape for the shoulders and labels from KATM. 


Pattern:  Pattern Scissors Cloth Galaxy Tee, size 104cm I think!
Changes made:  Changed the neckline to be more of a boat neck, removed some of the fullness from the sleeves. Sized down and added a curve to the bustline of the front side seams as a cheats FBA. I possibly could have added a bit more here, since I can still see drag lines.

Another one/recommendations:  There may be more. This pattern is such a worker and the fit is great. All get lots of wear, except maybe the black version now I’ve made the changes to the newer versions. I might change the neck on this one, just because the basic round neck really isn’t me.

Leave a comment